One of the foremost sights of historical Venice when exiting from the train station.
This church was given its name of ‘piccolo’ to distinguish from the much larger church
of Chiesa San Simeone Profeta. First constructed between the 10th and 11th centuries
and later completely transformed in 1738. Now some of the most noticable features
of the church are the nineteen steps leading to the entrance where atop the columns
is depicted a sculpture of the martyrdom of the holy holders by Fracesco Cabianca.
Another would be the vast oval dome atop the church which is surronded in its entirety
by copper plates with a statue at the point of the Christ Reedemer.