In Venice a scuola was the seat of a charity/religious institution. The Scuola Grande
of S. Maria della Misericordia was erected in 1310 and subsequently enlarged several
times. This large building was built to house the growing number of members of the confraternity
in the 16th century. It was built partly according to drawings by Jacopo Sansovino between
1534 and 1583 but not completed and it was never faced with marble or stone, and sold
in 1634 to the guild of silk weavers.
For many years, the seat of the municipal archive and a sporting association,
The Scuola has been recently restored and it is finally opened to the public!
Grounf Floor of Scuola della Misericordia
First Floor of Scuola della Misericordia