First opened in the year 1678 during carnival season. It was formerly named Teatro
di San Giovanni Grisostomo and was owned by the Grimani family. It is seated in the
outer rim of the Canereggio District before crossing to the Castello District, where once
the former houses of the famous Marco Polo. In 1835, to show his gratitude renamed
the theatre after a famous singer of this period, Maria Garcia Malibran.
After the 1996 fire of the Fenice Theatre the Malibran got its time to shine.
During restoration the only changes were the expansion of the orchestra pit and
an addition of an underground basin to collect flood waters, which could have
flooded the theatre otherwise.