One of the unknown marvels of Venice is finelly open for public!
The Oratorio dei Crociferi decorated by Jacopo Palma Il Giovane in the years 1583- 1592. His canvases depict episodes from the history of this Order of Crusades monks, with particular reference to its two main benefactors the doge Renier Zen and Pasquale Cicogna.
The oratory is the old chapel of a hospital founded in the 12th century by the crusader monks for piligrims and crusaders on their way to the Holy Land. In the 14th century, it became a hospice for poor women and widows.